In the event that I do not become a critical success or master novelist, I need to have a back up plan. My back up plan, though not ideal, would probably not have anything to do with writing. If I cannot find myself in some sort of writing field I hope to make it in the liquor industry, that's right, alcohol. Does that sound childish to you? It might, but the money, I assure you, is not. I have a way in to the career, I could become a salesmen eventually after being a merchandiser for a certain amount of time. Though, after becoming a merchandiser, I hope to move onto something else in the career. A lot of companies hire freelance writers to make ads or write columns on wine's/liquors/and beer. I find that I could probably handle both sides of this career as I am a somewhat avid drinker and writer. This would really be ideal for me, as I would still be using a degree that I paid all this money for.

Or, if that doesn't really work out and the companies I apply to already have writers and have no need of my "expertise" in the area I could do a writing gig on the side. Since I have an associates in web design and I am a huge fan of both films and music I think I could find myself writing for a publication and critiquing certain albums and/or films. My main hopes would be to get into the music-media site called pitchfork. Most of the new music I listen to comes from here so getting a job as a critical writer there would be perfect. I could listen to all the new music I want to and then write about what I've found in my musings. I pretty much do that on an almost regular basis as is, with telling my friends about a new album that just released or a new EP that they should really check out. Usually my critiques go over well with my friends. Even when I trash the work of a particular artist, the reader usually can find some sort of humor to find themselves wrapped up in between the harsher critique.



Leave a Reply.