While reading for the class, professions in writing, I found that one reading really stuck out for me more than the other three. That certain reading was written by Steve Salerno, in which it discussed ten different writing situations that college does not prepare for you. Upon reading this I was sort of flabbergasted by what I wasn't thinking about as I spent these past few years in college for writing arts. It basically gave me a realistic idea of what it was going to be like trying to get a job in a writing career after I graduate. I knew it would be hard, but I didn't know it would be quite like this. Steve spoke about how when you grab a magazine or journal, you see a very select few people listed under the title of "writer". Most, in fact, are editors and by being an editor for x amount of year, you may manage to find your into that company. Though even that seems like a big break for such a common goal of a writer.

Besides that Steve talked about how trying to get something, really anything, published was a writers best bet at having a career in the field. You need to get your work out there, as I knew, just not to the degree he spoke of. I haven't even managed to have one piece of my writing published, nor have I even tried. This kind of makes me worry that I should be jumping into trying to get into the school newspaper or maybe some freelancing gig for a website or something of that sort. I also learned that being a writer does not mean you'll like what you're writing about. Often times writers have to pretend to be interested in what they're writing. Thankfully, I am good at the art of BS, so even if I landed a job at a hospital journal as an editor (like one of my friends currently is) I would be deeply grateful for it. All this talk about writing and careers makes me really want to get more involved with my writing. I need to take the time to write some well thought out pieces, that or find a new career path.



Leave a Reply.