Google has really opened up our eyes in the last couple of years since it’s been established. Everyone goes through google these days, especially employers. It would not be surprising in the slightest to find out that an employer, especially one of a writing basis, would google a prospective employees name before hiring them. This can tell the magazine/website/blog proprietor exactly what they need to know about you and help them in the decision making process of hiring someone new. Social media can taken as such to be both a good starting point for a writer to jump from or a major hindrance in which makes the writer look silly or just plain unlikely for hire. If you are trying to get published, it’s always good to have some sort of social media that is professionally done and will make an employer understand what kind of writing and personality you will bring to the table. Right now if an employer saw the results of googling my name they would find my facebook and maybe even my twitter or weebly. While both my twitter and weebly were done in a scholastic/writer fashion, my facebook was not. It contains random thoughts and friends with whom I do not perceive in a professional frame of mind. Having my employer friend me on facebook would not be very beneficial, so I don’t think I’d ever click accept.

Trying to become self-published is another faucet of a more eager attitude towards writing. You’re trying to put yourself out there, and in doing so you’re also putting yourself on the line. Whether or not other established companies or writers will take notice to what you have published is another story. To have the best chances in being discovered and taken seriously one would have to establish some sort of connection with other writers to take basis off of. Personally, I would have to be pretty proud of my work to think I myself should publish it. I figure, if I have passed around a certain work I deemed appropriate for publication to my favorite media outlets, blogs, publishers, and magazines and they all declined, maybe I should take another look at where I am in writing. Maybe what I’m putting out there isn’t really what people are looking for right now and maybe I should head in a different direction.

Although, there have been cases were certain authors were put down by many publishers and decided to go about the process themselves and became famous for it. Dave Lieber seems to have the right personality for self-publishing, being that it’s what actually made him successful. His, to me, seems like a big medal for Mr. Lieber. It tells about all the awards he’s won, it shows all of his columns that he’s done in the past, it even has a eulogy written by himself about his father. Basically its Mr. Lieber’s personal page to show off how established he’s become in writing.

Personally, I think any person’s work has a much higher chance of being read if it’s published online. For instance, though it’s not published site, I could not figure out how to go about having strangers read my work until I made a online blog. Even when I first made my blog I was skeptical of whether or not anyone but friends and family would read it. Eventually, after making social “hashtags” and links at the bottom of each blog post people started visiting my page. After time other writers, bloggers, random viewers would actually make comments about my writing. These both good and bad criticisms actually helped mold my writing into what it is today. I was able to take what they said, after having viewed and read my sometimes-incoherent ramblings (like this one you’re reading now) and use it to my advantage of bettering my own writing.

With all this talk of self-publishing and and googling ones own name I have decided to use brandyourself.com to help establish myself a bit more. Using this site I have connected two blogs/information websites I did for Rowan University in the past. I’m hoping that by connecting them to the “brandyourself” website they will retain a higher place when googling my name. Right now when I google myself the only thing that comes up that is actually me is my facebook. Through “brandyourself” I have established which links are not me or have anything to do with me and posted more websites that do. I can only hope that after time the websites I want people to see get moved up to a point where potential employers could see them if they googled my name.




Leave a Reply.