As quick as the class was, I believe I gained a decent amount of information on what to do after I graduate. Though, I didn't just learn about the types of professions in writing but also about my graduate school options as well. For one, I’ve learned that I can keep going with my writing academia if I choose to. Also, from what I hear, I might be able to get some of it paid for. As for the professional aspect of this class, I think I was able to get a better idea of where I would be headed if I stick with writing. There are many different paths I can take, I never wanted to be a novelist but the idea of being a columnist, critic, and editor greatly interest me. From Writing in the Professions, I was able to learn how to go about getting my name out there for writing employers.

From the guest speakers I learned that there are a lot of different ways I can go with writing. Mr.  Mangini told the class how he used to drive 40 minutes away just to write an article or column for a certain newspaper. The stories told by Mr. Mangini not only taught me that there were jobs for decent writers but also options. Now, I always knew I didn’t have to write a book to get noticed as a writer but it’s still nice to be reassured that there are different routes I can take with my profession.  The second guest speaker, Keith Dubarry, told the class a lot about what it takes to become a certain breed of writer, a novelist. He talked about characters, detail, and dialogue as well as social networking. He also reminded us that to go anywhere in the professional aspect of writing you need to get your name established. Keith even showed us a couple of sites like hub.com, in which you can write and publish your own articles for others to see. I’m not quite sure how that works since I assume the only people looking at your pieces are other aspiring writers. Though maybe professional writers use hub.com as well to learn of fresh talent? Overall, I think it’s a good idea. Just so prospective hirers have something to garner your writing merit on. Either way, since being in this class I believe I’ve gained a different outlook on what I can do after I graduate. 




Leave a Reply.