Social networking always seemed like a good idea for an up and coming writer like myself. Having free, easy to use social network sites like Facebook, Twitter, Linked In, etc are all great ways to get yourself out there. The whole reason behind this, I think, is expansion. At first I didn’t think social media sites would do much for a new writer. It’s just your own personal friends and family, how exactly are you going to get your work out there if people you already know are the only ones looking at your stuff? Well it’s about making a grapevine for one person to pass on a writing piece they enjoyed to another. 
      In my case, I would shove my own articles/essays/stories down a certain group of friend’s eye sockets. From there I would persist that they share it with their own friends and family (people I do not know) in hopes that they will eventually do the same. Now if I’m not entirely sure that my friends will do that on their own I may have to try expanding my social circle to let in friends who are willing. Adding friends that were once in my classes here at Rowan is another great way to get my self onto the radar of other writers like myself. Having another writer who takes interest in me could be mutually beneficial. They could show it to their “writer friends” who could already be editors, journalists, freelancers, etc, and maybe upon seeing my drafts they could help point me into the way of a job pertaining my set of skills. Thus, I would do the same for a fellow student writer who sent me some of their work. I’m beginning to learn that writing is really all about getting yourself out there and networking. Whether it be socially or educationally.




Leave a Reply.