There are so many things out there to fear when it comes to writing. Not only can it come from a personal perspective but it can also be conducted through others like hiring editors or publishing companies. The first couple of fears that pop into my mind when I think about becoming a writer is pacing myself and deadlines. I fear that the good ideas I may or may not have currently will start to evaporate over time. Meaning, after I write that first amazing article/book/short story my idea bank will go dry and I’ll fall into an everlasting “writers block”. My other fear is getting things done on time. I am a procrastinator; first and foremost, with pretty much everything I do in life. I don’t know why I’m like this, maybe it’s in my genes. My father and brother are both huge procrastinators, but always find a way to get the job done in the allotted time.  Since I seem to always put everything off until the last couple of days before a due date I worry that I may do the same with writing in the real world. Hopefully I’ll be able to “task manage” myself a little bit better when I become a professional….one can only hope though.

Besides these basic writing fears, another daunting common writers conundrum I have are “writing demons”. These little suckers are what keeps me procrastinating as I’ve stated above. When I’m online I can’t help but check my social media sites and look at some articles. Though this can be construed as a hindrance, I find looking at certain articles refreshing. It certainly helps me become a bit more articulate when I read something from a well-developed writers site. I think sometimes our inner “demons” can be seen in a favorable light. One should then start thinking about how they perceive these distractions and what exactly they can take away from them    



Leave a Reply.